Skip to main content

US Declares 20 Nigerian States Unsafe, Warns Citizens

The U.S government has published a travel warning and listed 20 states as unsafe, while asking its citizens living in Nigeria to stay away from them. Among the 20, it cited Borno, Adamawa and Yobe as a complete no-go area, due to the Boko Haram and herdsmen crisis.

It also recommends against all but essential travel to the following states due to the risk of kidnappings, robberies, and other armed attacks: Bauchi, Bayelsa, Delta, Edo, Gombe, Imo, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Niger, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, and Zamfara